Board of Trustees

The Board of Trustees shall consist of no fewer than 25 and no more than 27 voting trustees.  23 voting Trustees shall be selected to serve three-year terms: Ten shall be Trustees who are members of Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) congregations or presbyteries within the bounds of the Synod of the South Atlantic; Five shall be Trustees who are members of Presbyterian Church (U.S.A.) congregations or presbyteries, and who are first nominated by the Trusteeship and Honorary Degrees Sub-committee of the Administrative Committee and appointed by the General Assembly Mission Council; Eight shall be Trustees elected by the Presbyterian College Board of Trustees.  The Presbyterian College Alumni Association shall select two Trustees; and the Board of Trustees may elect up to two Consulting Trustees.

The Board of Trustees is in the process of transitioning to new governance procedures.  The transition will take place by normal attrition over a period of several years to bring the trustee membership into compliance with new bylaws.

Synod of South Atlantic (Florida, Georgia and South Carolina)

Kenneth R. Couch
President, Smith Drug Company
Spartanburg S.C.

Robert H. Hopkins
Congressional District Director (Retired)
Rock Hill, S.C.

William D. S. Kuhne
Operations Manager, Epic Foods
Columbia S.C.

William D. Loeble, Jr.
COO, Beaver Manufacturing Company (Retired)
Covington, Ga.

Larry W. Massey
President/CEO Massey Wholesale Co.
Dawson, Ga.

Dr. Allen C. McSween
Pastor, Fourth Presbyterian Church (Retired)
Greenville, S.C.

Thomas R. Parrish
Regional Insurance President, BB&T Insurance Services, Inc.
Clinton, S.C.

Eloise F. Shepherd
Church and Civic Leader
Atlanta, Ga.

Richard P. Spencer
Managing Director, Henagan Spencer Capital Partners
Atlanta, Ga.

John H. Stroud
President, O’Dell Corporation
Greenwood S.C.

Presbyterian Church (USA) Representatives

E. Lane Alderman, Jr.
Minister, Roswell Presbyterian Church
Roswell, Ga.

Ernestine A. Gillam
Schoolteacher (Retired)
Barnwell, S.C.

Thomas H. Milton
SVP/Managing Director, Merrill Lynch (Retired); President, THM Group Inc.
Greensboro, N.C.

David F. Parker II
Sr. VP, U.S. Finance Market Segment Leader, Colonial Life
Columbia, S.C.

G. Patrick Phillips
Bank of America (Retired)
Charlotte, N.C.

At -Large Trustees

Robert M. Hicklin
Art Dealer and Manager, The Charleston Renaissance Gallery
Charleston, S.C.

Lonnie Thompson Lawson III
Managing Director, Fixed Income Sales, Wells Fargo Securities (Retired)
Charlotte N.C.

William M. Matthews
President, Belk Matthews Stores (Retired); Chairman, Suntrust Bank-Middle Georgia
Macon, Ga.

James L. Medford
President/CEO, Aaron Industries (Retired)
Greenwood S.C.

Dr. Welton O’Neal, Jr.
Head, Medical Affairs
Supernus  Pharmaceuticals
Upper Marlboro, Md.

Jeffrey G. Reynolds
President, H. G. Reynolds Construction Co.
Aiken, S.C.

J. McNeill Singleton
Chief Executive Officer and President, New South Companies, Inc. (Retired)
Myrtle Beach, S.C.

James W. Spradley, Jr.
CEO, Standard Candy Co. Inc.
Nashville, Tenn.

Thomas L. Thomason
Manager, The Delta Interests, LLC
Laurens, S.C.

Roland F. Young III
O’Brien, Tanski, & Young LLP (Of Counsel)(Retired)
White Sulpher Springs, W.Va.

Alumni Association Representatives

James D. Samples, Jr.
President, HGTV
Knoxville, Tenn.

Consulting Representatives

James H. Powell
President and CEO, Highland Commercial Bank
Marietta, Ga.

William B. Shearer, Jr.
Attorney, Bryan, Cave, Powell, Goldstein, LLP. Attorneys at Law (Retired)
General Counsel, Los Angeles Angels Baseball Team (Retired)
Atlanta, Ga.

Emeriti Trustees

Irwin Belk
Charlotte, N.C.

George H. Cornelson
Clinton, S.C.

William W. Gaston
Spartanburg, S.C.

Richard H. Monk
Birmingham, Ala.

William A. L. Sibley, Jr.
Greenville, S.C.

James W. Spradley
Eastman, Ga.