The History Department’s faculty members are characterized by excellence in their scholarship and teaching, their love for the liberal arts, and their warm regard for students. Well-qualified and award-winning teachers, these scholars are able to lead students into an exciting and rewarding educational experience.

Below is the list of current faculty with some basic information about each one.  To be introduced to them more fully, follow the links to the left. As you read through each one’s brief biography, look for their areas of interest and research, the courses that they have taught, universities from which they have graduated, and much more. Each of them will also indicate their contact information which should be a sign to you that they welcome any questions that you might have.

Dr. Roy B. Campbell
Department Chair
Associate Professor of History
B.A., Wingate University
M.A., Ph.D., Florida State University

Dr. Anita O. Gustafson
Professor of History
B.A., North Park University
M.A., Ph.D., Northwestern University

Dr. Richard R. Heiser
Professor of History
B.A., Nyack College
M.A., Ph.D., Florida State University

Dr. Michael A. Nelson
Professor of History
B.A., Gustavus Adolphus College
M.A., Bowling Green State University
Ph.D., University of Arkansas

Dr. Jaclyn A. Sumner
Assistant Professor of History
B.A., Northwestern University
M.A., Ph.D., University of Chicago

Dr. Stefan W. Wiecki
Associate Professor of History
B.A., Free University in Berlin
Ph.D., Brandeis University