Your browser (Internet Explorer 7 or lower) is out of date. It has known security flaws and may not display all features of this and other websites. Learn how to update your browser.


Navigate / search

PC Presidents

Founded in 1880 by the Rev. William Plumer Jacobs, Presbyterian College has been led by sixteen outstanding Presidents over the years.  In conjunction with the April inauguration of our 17th President, Dr. Claude C. Lilly, we are providing short biographies of former presidents of the college.

William States Lee, 1880-1885

Robert P. Smith, 1885-1888

 J. Whitner Kennedy, 1888-1891

John I. Cleland, 1891-1894

E. C. Murray, 1894-1897

Almon E. Spencer, 1897-1904

William G. Neville, 1904-1907

Robert P. Adams, 1907-1910

Davison M. Douglas, 1911-1926

Burney L. Parkinson, 1927-1928

John McSween, 1928-1935

William P. Jacobs II, 1935-1945

Marshall W. Brown, 1945-1963

Marc C. Weersing, 1963-1979

Kenneth B. Orr, 1979-1997
John V. Griffith, 1997-2012


Click any photo in this exhibit to enlarge.

Photographs and information have been gathered from the files of the Archives & Special Collections of Presbyterian College.

The following sources provided significant amounts of information for this exhibit:

Ansel B. Godfrey, A History of the Presbyterian College of South Carolina, c. 1930.
Nancy Snell Griffith, Clinton: A Brief History, History Press: Charleston, SC, 2010.
Ben Hay Hammet, The Spirit of PC: A Centennial History of Presbyterian College,  Jacobs Press: Clinton, SC, 1982.

Additional sources are cited within the biographies.