Faculty and Staff

CHORAL AND VOICE

Choral Activities, Chair, Department of Music – Dr. Porter Stokes

christmas porter 2

  • Barskdale Chair of Music
  • BS & MM, University of SC
  • DMA, University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music
  • Office Phone: 833-8468 (8470) pstokes@presby.edu

Vocal Studies, Opera, Musical Theater, Music History – Dr. Christian Elserbaritone

Headshot2

  • AS, Full Sail Center for the Recording Arts
  • BM, University of Wisconsin
  • MM, Northwestern University
  • DMA, University of Kansas
  • Office Phone: 833-8466 acelser@presby.edu

Voice – Ms. Tacy FleurysopranoTacy's professional pics 002

  • BM, Wichita State University
  • MM, University of Cincinnati College-Conservatory of Music
  • Office Phone: 833-8470 tgfleury@presby.edu

Voice – Ms. Lucie Svatonova – mezzosoprano

LUCIESVATONOVA

  • BA, Charles Universty, Prague
  • BM, Academy of Performing Arts, Prague
  • MM, Converse College
  • Office Phone: 833-8577  lasvastono@presby.edu

 

KEYBOARD

Piano, Class Piano, Music History – Dr. Karen Buckland, piano

buckland2

  • BM, Mansfield University
  • MM, University of SC
  • DMA, University of SC
  • Office Phone: 833-8467 kbuck@presby.edu

Organ, Theory, Handbells, Men’s Chorus – Dr. Ron Davis, organ

RonDAtl

  • BM, Ouachita Baptist University
  • MM, University of Kansas
  • DMA, University of Kansas
  • Office Phone: 833-8422 rdavis@presby.edu

 

STRINGS 

String Programs, Cello, Orchestra, Chamber Music – Dr. Richard Thomas

01/26/06 faculty music mozart

  • BM, DePauw University
  • MM, University of North Texas
  • DMA, University of SC
  • Office Phone: 833-8469 rthomas@presby.edu 

Violin – Dr. Pawel Kozak

Pawel Kozak picture

  • BM, Augusta State University
  • MM. University of Georgia
  • DMA, University of Georgia pkkozak@presby.edu

Guitar – Dr. James Buckland

BucklandJames

  • BM, University of Toronto
  • MM, University of Akron
  • DMA, University of South Carolina
  • Office Phone: 833-8470 jpbucklan@presby.edu

 

 

WINDS, PERCUSSION, BAND PROGRAMS 

Wind Instrumental Program, Wind Ensemble & Pep Band, Music Education – Dr. Richard Housetrumpet

Richard House-conductor-11-10

  • BM, East Carolina University
  • MM, Arizona State University
  • DMA, Arizona State University
  • Office Phone: 833-8465 rehouse@presby.ed

Horn – Ms. Kerri Gearheart

Kerri PC Bio Photo

  • BM, University of SC
  • MM, University of SC
  • kgearhea@presby.edu

Low Brass, Brass Quintet – Mr. P. Neil Duncantrombone, tuba

NDuncan

  • BM, Limestone College
  • MM (in process), Converse College
  • Office Phone: 833-8470 pnduncan@presby.edu

 

Percussion – Mr. Matthew C. Jones, multiple percussion

mathew-jones

  • BM, University of South Carolina
  • Office Phone: 833-8470 (general music offices) mcjones@presby.edu

 

Woodwinds & Jazz – Mr. Tom Wheat, sax, clarinet

wheat

  • BA Honours Music, Royal Welsh College of Music and Drama
  • Certificate in Education/Secondary Music, Nottingham Trent University
  • Office Phone: 833-8470 tmwheat@presby.edu

 

Bagpipe – Mr. Gary Hipp, master piper

Gary Hipp 1

  • BS, University of Florida
  • MA, University of Florida
  • Office Phone: 833-8470 ghipp@presby.edu

 

COMPOSITION, MUSIC THEORY

Dr. Ron Davis (see under Keyboard)

Music Technology, Theory, Composition – Dr. Rob Howiler

rob-howiler

  • BM, Berklee College of Music
  • MM, University of SC
  • DMA, University of SC
  • Office Phone: 833-8324 rhowiler@presby.edu 

MUSIC HISTORY

Dr. Karen Buckland (see under Keyboard)

Dr. Christian Elser (see under Voice)

 

THE LAURENS COUNTY ACADEMIC OF MUSIC AT PC

(Pre-college instruction), Accompanying, Private piano instructionCasual Photo Mr. Alan Rudell

ADDITIONAL STAFF AND SUPPORT 

Mrs. Beverly Davis

  • Departmental Secretary, Recruiting Coordinator, Auditions Coordinatorbeverly-davis
  • Office Phone: 833-8470 bdavis@presby.edu 

Ms. Brooke Gillespie Black

  • Accompanying
  • BM Converse CollegeBlack