Education Department inducts new teachers

Education Department inducts new teachers

teacher-inductMore than thirty seniors took the oath for graduating educators in PC’s Department of Education teacher induction ceremony on May 10.

President Lilly welcomed students, parents, faculty, and supporters to the event and spoke fondly of two teachers who had a major impact on his life.

“They cared and inspired me to do my best,” said Lilly.

In her welcoming remarks, Dr. Debra Lee, Associate Professor of Early Childhood Education and Education Department Chair, said this is a time to celebrate the graduates for all they have accomplished and will to do in the future.

“I’m extremely proud to call all of you fellow educators,” Lee said.  “I know you will go out and make a difference in the world, furthering our department’s mission to serve, to lead, and to teach.”

Guest speaker for the induction was Dr. Robert Sheffield, 2012-2013 LDHS Teacher of the Year and 2012-2013 District Teacher of the Year for Laurens County District 55.

Sheffield said his teaching philosophy is to make students thirsty for knowledge.

“If you develop programs that peak interest kids will want to learn,” Sheffield said.

As a science teacher and wrestling coach, Sheffield encouraged the new teachers to be passionate about learning.

“Kids won’t care about learning unless you do. They need to see it in all that you do,” he said.

Members of the Class of 2013 who took the oath for educators include:

Keighley Beth Aldridge

Shawn Douglas Armstrong

Trent Nathaniel Bailey

Taylor Kathleen Baker

Stephanie Ann Barksdale

Tamara Jennifer Bartlett

Anna Danielle Biggers

Carolyne Elizabeth Brooks

Pressly Ann Caldwell

Christine Marie Cassidy

Kathleen Susan Coker

Mary Katherine Crozier

Brittany Nicole Donnelly

James Smith Festa

Rachel Elizabeth  Fogle

Lauren Dallas Gulledge

Holley Marie Hutto

Meredith Kathleen Johnson

Molly Erin Kent

Jamie Elizabeth Kruger

Lauren Anne Lefeber

Jo Anne McAnally

Mary Ellen Morris

Callie Elzabeth Neal

Kelly Elise Ragan

Blythe Elizabeth Reynolds

Sarah Morgan Riley

Lauren Ashley Smith

Lyndsey Brooke Smith

Natalie Michelle Tinsley

Vaughn Edward Volious

Susan Katherine Wade

Anna Kathryn Wilson

Sarah Margaret Wilson