2020 Alumni Award Recipients Announced

2020 Alumni Award Recipients Announced

Presbyterian College Clinton SC Alumni Award

An internationally renowned scientist. An award-winning journalist. Two brothers with a combined 70 years of service to PC. These are just a few of the 2020 alumni award recipients.

Each year, PC bestows awards upon those for outstanding accomplishments in their professions as well as for outstanding service to others and to the College. The 2020 alumni award recipients include eight PC graduates and three staff members who treat the College as their own alma mater.

This year’s alumni award recipients are:

Dr. George Louis Powell ’63, Gold P Award

Dr. George Louis Powell ’63 became a distinguished scientist, inventor and technologist after graduating from PC. Powell has been named the 2020 Gold P Award recipient. The honor recognizes an alumnus or alumna for outstanding accomplishments in the chosen profession, which reflect honor upon the College. Read more »

Jim Harrison ’80, Dum Vivimus Servimus Award

James P. Harrison III ’80 is the president and founder of Mission Relief Services, an organization that collects medical supplies and equipment from local and regional hospitals and ships containers worldwide to countries with the greatest need.

This year PC recognizes Harrison’s service to others by bestowing upon him a Dum Vivimus Servimus Award. The honor recognizes alumni who exemplify the meaning of the College motto, “While We Live, We Serve.” Read more »

Dr. David Taylor ’81, Dum Vivimus Servimus Award

Dr. David Taylor created Momentum Bike Clubs, a group-mentoring initiative for middle and high school students who need extra support in their lives. For the past 10 years Taylor has served as director of Momentum Bike Clubs while also serving as assistant research professor with Clemson University’s Institute on Family and Neighborhood Life.

This year PC recognizes Taylor’s service to others by also bestowing upon him a Dum Vivimus Servimus Award.
Read more »

Harold “BoBo” Beasley ’78, Mary F. Lehman Service Award

Harold “BoBo” Beasley ’78 always promotes, encourages, inspires and leads by example when it comes to serving his alma mater. From his Benjamin E. Mays High School office full of PC memorabilia, Beasley has recruited 10 Benjamin E. Mays High School students who attended and graduated from PC. He’s also served on alumni boards for several years.

This year, the College recognizes Beasley with the Mary F. Lehman Alumni Service Award, which recognizes an alumnus or alumna for the outstanding meritorious service rendered to Presbyterian College and the Alumni Association. Read more »

Ann Taylor Morgan ’81, Thomas Aurelius Stallworth ’55 Alumni Award

Ann Taylor Morgan ’81 has demonstrated her Christian character throughout her public and private life as well. At St. John’s United Methodist Church in Rock Hill, she has served as a Stephen Minister, choir member, Sunday school teacher, Staff-Parish Committee member, and search-committee member.

This year, PC recognizes Morgan with the Thomas Aurelius Stallworth ’55 Alumni Award. The award is bestowed upon an alumna or alumnus of PC who embodies the best characteristics of Stallworth’s Christian leadership, strong and bold character, integrity, moral courage and values. The recipient knows and demonstrates the true meaning of neighbor and friend. Read more »

Frank King, Mike Turner Scotsman Club Service Award

This year, PC bestows upon King the Mike Turner Scotsman Club Service Award. The award recognizes an alumnus or alumna for sustained efforts and devoted leadership as a Scotsman Club member and scholarship patron.
Read more »

Whitney B. Harrison ’07, Outstanding Young Alumna

Whitney B. Harrison ’07 recognized early on in her law career that appellate practice could be an avenue to serve others for a lifetime by tackling issues that transcend one person or case.

Because of these efforts and her dedication to service, Harrison has been named the 2020 Outstanding Young Alumna. The honor is presented to an alumna under 40 years of age, as the award year begins, who shows early competence within the chosen field of endeavor and exceptional promise of future achievement. Read more »

Jack Jenkins ’07, Outstanding Young Alumnus

Jack Jenkins has worked as senior writer and researcher for the Faith and Progressive Policy Initiative at the Center for American Progress, senior religion reporter for ThinkProgress, and now at Religion News Service as their national reporter covering religion and politics.

Jenkins is an award-winning journalist who’s been cited or featured in the New York Times and other publications and is a regular guest on radio shows and podcasts. Jenkins’ recently published book, “American Prophets: The Religious Roots of Progressive Politics and the Ongoing Fight for the Soul of the Country,” has gotten rave reviews.

This year PC recognizes Jenkins as the Outstanding Young Alumnus. The award recognizes an alumnus under 40 years of age, as the award year begins, for early competence within the chosen field of endeavor and exceptional promise of future achievement. Read more »

Ray Bunting and Scott Bunting, Honorary Alumni

Brothers Ray and Scott Bunting have combined for nearly 70 years of loyal service to PC. This year, the two have been named honorary alumni for treating the College like their alma mater. Read more »

Dee Nichols, Honorary Alumna

Dee Nichols has long served a key role in the Presbyterian College Department of Athletics. She oversaw various aspects of the internal athletics operations as interim athletic director and now serves as the senior associate athletic director for operations and senior woman administrator.

This year, Nichols has been named an honorary alumna for treating the College as her alma mater. Read more »

Recognizing the award recipients

Alumni award recipients typically accept their awards on campus. Since Homecoming 2020 has been cancelled because of the pandemic, this year’s recipients will be honored virtually instead. However, they will return to campus for an in-person celebration in 2021.