Alex Seale Physician Assistant Student Presbyterian CollegeAlex Seale

PA Student
Class of 2022

University of South Carolina ’18, Manga Cum Laude
Major: Exercise Science

What activities and organizations were you involved in as an undergraduate?

Dance Marathon, multiple intramural sports (including basketball and kickball), and during summers of undergrad, I coached a summer league swim team and taught private swim lessons to all ages.

What did you do after you graduated?

Worked as a medical assistant at Palmetto Health USC Orthopedics.

If you’ve done any volunteer work, please list what you’ve done and where.

I volunteered at The Free Medical Clinic in Columbia, S.C., as a clinical volunteer. I assisted the physicians, nurse practitioners, charge nurse, and other staff members as necessary.

How or why did you become involved in this volunteer work?

I believed that by volunteering there, I’d be exposing myself to people with different backgrounds and experiences while also broadening my knowledge of healthcare. To be seen at The Free Medical Clinic, the patients cannot have any type of medical insurance and must have a household income at or below 175% of the Federal Poverty Level. The majority of these patients would be without any primary medical care if it weren’t for the clinic, due to cost and access to affordable healthcare.

What are some of your hobbies or interests?

I love being outdoors and doing any sort of physical activity. Most weekends you can catch me either walking a trail, playing a game of cornhole, or watching some football or basketball.

Please let us know about anything weird, quirky, or unusual that you’d like to share.

I am an ice cream fanatic and would eat it for breakfast, lunch, and dinner if I could.

Why do you want to be a PA?

I want to help increase access to medical care, especially to people in underserved areas, while also building connections with my patients in hopes to help them live healthier and happier lives.

Why did you choose the Presbyterian College PA Program?

The location was ideal for me, as most of my family and friends still live around South Carolina and the staff seemed very knowledgeable and enthusiastic about the program.