Presbyterian College Announces Newly Tenured Faculty

Presbyterian College Announces Newly Tenured Faculty

Presbyterian College is proud to announce the granting of tenure and promotion to faculty members following the February 2015 Board of Trustees meeting.

Dr. Kirk Nolan, who joined the Presbyterian College faculty in 2009, was granted tenure and promoted to associate professor in the Department of Religion and Philosophy. Nolan was ordained in the Presbyterian Church (USA) in 1998 and received his Ph.D. in 2010 from Princeton Theological Seminary. He is married to Tricia Nolan, PC’s coordinator for academic success, and together they have three children: Junia, Bennet and Isaiah.

Dr. Roy B. Campbell joined the Presbyterian College faculty in 2002 and has been promoted to professor of history. Originally from North Dakota, Campbell received his Ph.D. from Florida State University. He is the current chair of the history department and very involved with PC’s study abroad program. He is married to Suzette Campbell and together they have two sons: Dakota and Skye.

Dr. Troy R. Nash also joined the PC faculty in 2002 and was promoted to professor of biology. He received his Ph.D. from Clemson University and currently teaches a variety of introductory and upper-level courses in the department. A former chair of the college’s Senior Faculty Council, Nash is also a member of various scientific organizations, a nature photographer, and a practitioner of martial arts.

Dr. James Wanliss, who joined the College’s faculty in 2008, was promoted to professor of physics. Wanliss was born in King William’s Town, South Africa, and he received his Ph.D. in physics from the University of Alberta in Canada. He is married to Seung-Hyun (Esther) Kang, and they have two children. Wanliss has received grants from NASA and the National Science Foundation, as well as published articles in areas ranging from space weather to using statistical physics to model decisions in combat situations.

Dr. David Eagerton was promoted from assistant professor to associate professor with tenure within the School of Pharmacy. He received his Ph.D. from the University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy. As one of the founding faculty members, Eagerton now has six years of experience at the graduate level at PC and has received several teaching awards.

“At PC, we are lucky to have such distinguished faculty members,” said PC President Dr. Claude Lilly. “Congratulations are in order for each of the faculty who were promoted or received tenure.”