While We Live, We Serve.

The motto of PC is Dum Vivimus Servimus, or While We Live We Serve, is demonstrated by the campus community in countless ways, both through everyday interactions and specific programs to serve others.

Since its creation in the early-1960s, Student Volunteer Services (SVS) has been regarded as one of the signature programs at Presbyterian College. SVS is a student-run organization that provides a variety of service opportunities. SVS allows students to get involved not only on PC’s campus but also in the Clinton community and raises awareness and support for nation-wide organizations, by offering nearly 20 different programs, including those relating to youth, the elderly, churches, and social issues.

Students can track their volunteer hours here »

For more information, please contact Rev. Racquel Gill, Grayson Fallaw, or Sharmila Samuel.

Delete Blood Cancer

Delete Blood Cancer is an SVS organization that works to get students registered into the bone marrow registry. This organization hopes to spread awareness about blood cancer and the benefits of joining the registry. It also works to raise money in order to offset the costs of donors traveling to donate. For more information, please contact Bobby Azevedo at rdazevedo@presby.edu or Jamila Labee at jelabee@presby.edu.

Greenhose

Greenhose promotes positive environmental change on PC’s campus and in the community. Greenhose coordinates volunteer trips to the Community Garden; explores ways to reduce, reuse, and recycle at PC; and educates the public about environmental change. If you care about the future of our planet and enjoy playing in the dirt, this group might be for you! To get involved or find out more information, please email Liza Powers or Hannah Sawyer.

Habitat for Humanity

Habitat For Humanity (HFH) seeks to eliminate poverty housing and homelessness from the world. Families around the world partner with Habitat for Humanity to build safe and secure homes. The Presbyterian College Chapter of Habitat for Humanity works to build homes and fight poverty housing in the Greater Laurens County community and has completed over 20 homes. For more information, please contact Grayson Fallaw at gefallaw@presby.edu.

Humane Society

PC’s Humane Society works directly with the Laurens County Humane Society. We visit the shelter and help in any way that we can. We bathe, walk, pet, and love on the animals. We also help with yard sales, build walking trails, and clean the facilities. This group is a great way to get involved in the community while also getting to love animals that really appreciate it. To get involved or to get more information, please email Daniel Wester at ddwester@presby.edu or Noah Burkett at ndburkett@presby.edu.

Relay for Life

Relay For Life is the signature fundraiser for the American Cancer Society. Relay for Life is staffed and coordinated by volunteers in more than 5,200 communities and 27 countries. Volunteers give of their time and effort because they believe it’s time to take action against cancer.

Senior Adult Programs

Every week, students involved in Student Volunteer Services visit Presbyterian Community, a local retirement facility. This ministry is a great way to make new friends and bridge the gap between generations! If interested contact Katie Russell at ksrussell@presby.edu or Jenna Seubarran at jdseubarr@presby.edu.

Special Olympics

The Special Olympics provides athletic competition in a variety of Olympic-type sports for children and adults with intellectual disabilities. PC hosts the Special Olympics Area 5 (Abbeville, Greenwood, Laurens, McCormick and Newberry) event on campus. PC students participate by helping with the organization of the event, set-up and break-down, record keeping, and assisting in games. For more information, please contact Megan Archer at Dom Jones at dfjones@presby.edu, Samantha Fink at sjfink@presby.edu, Cooper Short at crshort@presby.edu, or Hallie Keisler at hakeisler@presby.edu.

Thornwell Home for Children

Many of our PC students become Big Brother or Big Sister at Thornwell Home for Children. PC students are paired with a Thornwell child and spend time with their little sibling on a weekly basis. Throughout the year, BB/BS hosts several parties for the children including a Halloween Carnival and Valentine’s Dance. For more information, please contact Madyson Glenn at mpglenn@presby.edu or Corinne Gillion at cegiollion@presby.edu.

Walk A Mile (WAM!)

PC’s Walk A Mile (WAM!) group advocates for women at PC and in the community. This group organizes fundraisers, clothing drives, and student volunteers to assist local women’s shelters. Additionally, WAM! promotes education about topics of particular importance to women. WAM!’s main event is the “Walk A Mile in Her Shoes” run/walk that takes place in the Spring Semester. WAM! stands for “Walk A Mile,” but we stand for a whole lot more than that. To get involved or find out more information, please email Hannah Rankin at hrrankin@presby.edu or Emma Lewallen at elewallen@presby.edu.