Presbyterian College Math Honor Society Inducts New Members

Presbyterian College Math Honor Society Inducts New Members

PME 2015 New Members

The Presbyterian College chapter of Pi Mu Epsilon, the national math honor society, held its annual initiation ceremony in late-March.  In order to be inducted into the society, students must have completed at least the equivalent of two semesters of calculus and two additional courses in mathematics, at or above the calculus level, and must maintain at least a 3.0-grade point average.

The new members include Nicole Alleva, Kylie Birch, Hannah Harris, Harrison Hopkins, Elizabeth Kahn, Ignacio MonchettiI, and James Satterfield.

“We are delighted to recognize the accomplishments of our talented math students with their induction into Pi Mu Epsilon,” said Dr. Brian Beasley, Daniel Professor of Mathematics and faculty adviser for PC’s Pi Mu Epsilon.  “This honor represents not only their achievements to date but also their potential for continued success in future endeavors.”

The ceremony also included the Linder Lecture Series speaker for 2015.  The Department of Mathematics created this series in 2013 in honor of distinguished PC alumnus and Auburn University Professor of Mathematics Dr. Curt Lindner ’60.

Dr. Tim Chartier of Davidson College served as the speaker this year.  He presented “Who’s Number One? From Ranking to Bracketology,”  including a review of a description of the application of linear algebra techniques to the process of choosing which teams will advance in a tournament.

The national Pi Mu Epsilon society, which is dedicated to the promotion of mathematics, sponsors an annual conference in conjunction with the Mathematics Association of America (MAA), featuring student presentations. Regional chapters of the society also hold conferences that allow students to speak on mathematics topics.

For more information on PC’s Pi Mu Epsilon, contact Dr. Beasley at