Pharmacy School Announces Transitions for the Upcoming Academic Year

Pharmacy School Announces Transitions for the Upcoming Academic Year

Presbyterian College has announced that Dr. Richard E. Stull will serve as interim dean of the Presbyterian College School of Pharmacy, effective July 1.

Stull served as founding dean at PCSP from August 2008 to December 2012. While at PCSP, he spearheaded the hiring of faculty and staff, the renovation of the pharmacy building on North Broad Street, the recruitment of the college’s first three classes, accreditation for the program through the Accreditation Council for Pharmacy Education (ACPE), and development of programs to connect the pharmacy school to the Clinton community and the upstate of South Carolina.  Stull also worked to establish an entrepreneurial environment for the school and to launch initiatives that assist South Carolina free clinics in the delivery of pharmacy services.

Stull holds degrees from Southern Illinois University-Carbondale and the University of Louisiana-Monroe. He worked to found pharmacy schools at Texas Tech University and Shenandoah University, and prior to launching the program at PC, he served from 2004 to 2008 as founding dean of the pharmacy school at the University of Charleston in Charleston, West Virginia.

Stull succeeds Dr. L. Clifton Fuhrman, Jr., who has served as dean of the Presbyterian College School of Pharmacy since January 2013.  Fuhrman will be returning to the faculty full-time on July 1 as professor of pharmaceutics. The college will launch a national search for a permanent dean during the fall 2019 semester, and it anticipates bringing the new dean to campus during the summer of 2020.

Dr. Kayce Shealy, associate professor of pharmacy practice at the Presbyterian College School of Pharmacy, will serve as interim associate dean for academic affairs for the 2019-2020 academic year.  Shealy, who joined the PCSP faculty in 2010, is currently chair of the department of pharmacy practice. Shealy holds degrees from Newberry College and the University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy. She is a past president of the South Carolina Pharmacy Association, and she has specialties in pharmacotherapy and ambulatory care as well as certification for diabetes education. Shealy is an active member of the American Pharmacists Association, the American College of Clinical Pharmacy, the American Association of Colleges of Pharmacy, the American Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists, and the South Carolina Society of Health-Systems Pharmacists.

Shealy succeeds Dr. Julie M. Sease, who has served as associate dean for academic affairs since 2013. Sease will join the faculty of the University of South Carolina College of Pharmacy as professor and senior associate dean.

Dr. Erika Tillery, associate professor of pharmacy practice, will serve in an interim capacity as chair of the department of pharmacy practice. She joined the PCSP faculty in 2016, after service from 2011 to 2016 at the South University College of Pharmacy. Her research interests relate to mental illness concerns (including optimized medication outcomes, stigma reduction, and cost-effectiveness of treatments).

Dr. Laura Fox, professor of pharmaceutics and director of assessment, will lead the self-study effort for the pharmacy school as it prepares its next application for accreditation with ACPE. Fox served as assistant dean for professional and student affairs from 2009 to 2015, and she will coordinate the work done by faculty and staff to prepare the report due early next year in advance of our next ACPE site visit in March 2020.

The college is grateful to Dr. Stull, Dr. Shealy, Dr. Tillery, and Dr. Fox for agreeing to serve in these leadership capacities for the next academic year. We are confident that we have an excellent team put together to position the school for continued success as we prepare for our next class of students and our upcoming accreditation self-study.